The Cabinet

The Constitution provides for the organs of state, namely, the Executive (Cabinet), the Legislature and the Judiciary. The President, as the Head of State, appoints the Prime Minister and the other Cabinet members from among the elected Members of Parliament.

The President as a Head of State appoints the Prime Minister, a Member of Parliament who commands a confidence of the majority of the MPs. Members of Cabinet are appointed from among the MPs by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister leads the Cabinet in the administration of the Government. The Cabinet is responsible for all Government policies and the day-to-day administration of the affairs of the State. It is responsible collectively to Parliament.

The Cabinet comprises:

Prime Minister
Mr Lee Hsien Loong
Senior Minister & Coordinating Minister for National Security
Mr Teo Chee Hean
Senior Minister & Coordinating Minister for Social Policies
Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam
Deputy Prime Minister & Minister for Finance
Mr Heng Swee Keat
Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure & Minister for Transport
Mr Khaw Boon Wan
Minister for Defence
Dr Ng Eng Hen
Minister for Foreign Affairs
Dr Vivian Balakrishnan
Minister for Home Affairs & Minister for Law
Mr K Shanmugam
Minister for Health
Mr Gan Kim Yong
Minister for Communications and Information & Minister-in-charge of Trade Relations
Mr S Iswaran
Minister for Culture, Community and Youth
Ms Grace Fu Hai Yien
Minister for Trade and Industry
Mr Chan Chun Sing
Minister for National Development & Second Minister for Finance
Mr Lawrence Wong
Minister for the Environment and Water Resources & Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs
Mr Masagos Zulkifli Bin Masagos Mohamad
Minister, Prime Minister's Office
Mr Ng Chee Meng
Minister for Education
Mr Ong Ye Kung
Minister for Manpower & Second Minister for Home Affairs
Mrs Josephine Teo
Minister for Social and Family Development & Second Minister for National Development
Mr Desmond Lee
Minister, Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Finance and Second Minister for Education
Ms Indranee Rajah