Branches of Government

The Government in Singapore is modelled after the Westminster system, with 3 separate branches: the Legislature (which comprises the President and Parliament), the Executive (which comprises Cabinet Ministers and office-holders, and is led by the Prime Minister) and the Judiciary. The Legislature makes the laws of the land. The Executive administers the law. The Judiciary interprets the law through the Courts.

The Prime Minister is the Head of Government and the President is the Head of State.


Being unicameral, the Parliament of Singapore has only one House. The Members of Parliament (MPs) are voted in at regular General Elections. The leader of the political party that secures the majority of seats in Parliament will be asked by the President to become the Prime Minister (PM). The PM will then select his Ministers from elected MPs to form the Cabinet.

Election of Speaker of Parliament

When the new Parliament meets for the first time after a General Election, the Speaker will be elected. The "life" of each Parliament is 5 years from the date of its first meeting or Sitting. A General Election must be held within 3 months of the dissolution of Parliament.

Functions of Parliament