PRESS RELEASE

THIRD REPORT OF THE SPECIAL SELECT COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT AS NOMINATED MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

- 1. The Special Select Committee on Nominations for Appointment as Nominated Members of Parliament has presented its Report [Parl 23 of 2025] to Parliament.
- 2. Mr Joshua Thomas Raj and Dr Syed Harun Alhabsyi were appointed as nominated Members of Parliament for a term of two and a half years from the date of their appointment on 24 July 2023. They resigned as nominated Members of Parliament on 14 February 2025.
- 3. Section 4(2) of the Fourth Schedule of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore provides: "Whenever the seat of a nominated Member has become vacant for any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament or the expiry of his term of service, the Special Select Committee may, if it thinks fit, nominate a person for the President to appoint as a nominated Member to fill the vacancy."
- 4. Under Article 65(4) of the Constitution, the current Parliament, unless sooner dissolved, shall continue for five years from its first sitting on 24 August 2020 and shall then stand dissolved (i.e. on 23 August 2025).
- 5. Considering the time required to invite the general public to submit names of persons who may be considered for nomination by the Committee and the term of the current Parliament, the Committee decided <u>not</u> to nominate any persons for appointment as nominated Members of Parliament to fill the two vacancies.

Office of the Clerk of Parliament 8 April 2025