FOURTEENTH PARLIAMENT OF SINGAPORE (SECOND SESSION)

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY, 4 OCTOBER 2023

No. 114 **12.30 pm** 1

PRESENT:

Mr SPEAKER (Mr Seah Kian Peng (Marine Parade)).

Mr ANG WEI NENG (West Coast).

Mr BAEY YAM KENG (Tampines), Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment and Ministry of Transport.

Mr CHAN CHUN SING (Tanjong Pagar), Minister for Education.

Miss CHERYL CHAN WEI LING (East Coast).

Ms USHA CHANDRADAS (Nominated Member)

Mr CHEE HONG TAT (Bishan-Toa Payoh), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Transport.

Mr EDWARD CHIA BING HUI (Holland-Bukit Timah).

Mr CHONG KEE HIONG (Bishan-Toa Payoh).

Mr DESMOND CHOO (Tampines).

Mr ERIC CHUA (Tanjong Pagar) Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth and Ministry of Social and Family Development.

Mr KEITH CHUA (Nominated Member)

Mr CHUA KHENG WEE LOUIS (Sengkang).

Mr DARRYL DAVID (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr CHRISTOPHER DE SOUZA (Holland-Bukit Timah), Deputy Speaker.

Ms FOO MEE HAR (West Coast).

Mr GAN KIM YONG (Chua Chu Kang), Minister for Trade and Industry.

Ms GAN SIOW HUANG (Marymount), Minister of State, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Manpower.

Mr GAN THIAM POH (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr GERALD GIAM YEAN SONG (Aljunied).

Mr DERRICK GOH (Nee Soon).

Ms HE TING RU (Sengkang).

Mr HENG CHEE HOW (Jalan Besar), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Defence.

Mr HENG SWEE KEAT (East Coast), Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for Economic Policies.

Mr SHAWN HUANG WEI ZHONG (Jurong).

Ms INDRANEE RAJAH (Tanjong Pagar), Minister, Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Finance, Second Minister for National Development and Leader of the House.

Dr JANIL PUTHUCHEARY (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of

Communications and Information and Ministry of Health and Government Whip.

Dr AMY KHOR LEAN SUAN (Hong Kah North), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment and Ministry of Transport.

Dr KOH POH KOON (Tampines), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Manpower and Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment.

Mr KWEK HIAN CHUAN HENRY (Kebun Baru).

Mr DESMOND LEE (West Coast), Minister for National Development and Minister-in-charge of Social Services Integration.

Mr LEE HSIEN LOONG (Ang Mo Kio), Prime Minister.

Mr MARK LEE (Nominated Member)

Mr LEONG MUN WAI (Non-Constituency Member).

Mr LIANG ENG HWA (Bukit Panjang).

Assoc Prof JAMUS JEROME LIM (Sengkang).

Ms SYLVIA LIM (Aljunied).

Dr LIM WEE KIAK (Sembawang).

Ms MARIAM JAAFAR (Sembawang).

Mr MASAGOS ZULKIFLI B M M (Tampines), Minister for Social and Family Development, Second Minister for Health and Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs.

Mr MUHAMAD FAISAL ABDUL MANAP (Aljunied).

Assoc Prof Dr MUHAMMAD FAISHAL IBRAHIM (Nee Soon), Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of National Development.

Mr MURALI PILLAI (Bukit Batok).

Ms NADIA AHMAD SAMDIN (Ang Mo Kio).

Dr NG ENG HEN (Bishan-Toa Payoh), Minister for Defence.

Mr LOUIS NG KOK KWANG (Nee Soon).

Ms NG LING LING (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr ONG HUA HAN (Nominated Member)

Mr ONG YE KUNG (Sembawang), Minister for Health.

Mr NEIL PAREKH NIMIL RAJNIKANT (Nominated Member)

Ms JOAN PEREIRA (Tanjong Pagar).

Ms DENISE PHUA LAY PENG (Jalan Besar).

Ms HAZEL POA (Non-Constituency Member).

Ms POH LI SAN (Sembawang).

Mr PRITAM SINGH (Aljunied), Leader of the Opposition.

Ms RAHAYU MAHZAM (Jurong), Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Health and Ministry of Law.

Assoc Prof RAZWANA BEGUM ABDUL RAHIM (Nominated Member)

Mr SAKTIANDI SUPAAT (Bishan-Toa Payoh).

Ms SEE JINLI JEAN (Nominated Member)

Mr K SHANMUGAM (Nee Soon), Minister for Home Affairs and Minister for Law.

Mr SHARAEL TAHA (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Ms SIM ANN (Holland-Bukit Timah), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Ministry of National Development and Deputy Government Whip.

Mr SITOH YIH PIN (Potong Pasir).

Ms SUN XUELING (Punggol West), Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of Social and Family Development.

Dr SYED HARUN ALHABSYI (Nominated Member)

Mr ALVIN TAN (Tanjong Pagar), Minister of State, Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth and Ministry of Trade and Industry.

Ms CARRIE TAN (Nee Soon).

Mr DESMOND TAN (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Minister of State, Prime Minister's Office.

Mr TAN KIAT HOW (East Coast), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information and Ministry of National Development.

Dr TAN SEE LENG (Marine Parade), Minister for Manpower and Second Minister for Trade and Industry.

Dr TAN WU MENG (Jurong).

Mr PATRICK TAY TECK GUAN (Pioneer).

Mr TEO CHEE HEAN (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Senior Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security.

Mrs JOSEPHINE TEO (Jalan Besar), Minister for Communications and Information and Second Minister for Home Affairs.

Mr RAJ JOSHUA THOMAS (Nominated Member)

Ms TIN PEI LING (MacPherson).

Mr EDWIN TONG CHUN FAI (Marine Parade), Minister for Culture, Community and Youth and Second Minister for Law.

Mr VIKRAM NAIR (Sembawang).

Dr VIVIAN BALAKRISHNAN (Holland-Bukit Timah), Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Dr WAN RIZAL (Jalan Besar).

Mr DON WEE (Chua Chu Kang).

Mr LAWRENCE WONG (Marsiling-Yew Tee), Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance.

Mr XIE YAO QUAN (Jurong).

Mr ALEX YAM ZIMING (Marsiling-Yew Tee).

Ms YEO WAN LING (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Mr YIP HON WENG (Yio Chu Kang).

Mr ZAQY MOHAMAD (Marsiling-Yew Tee), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Defence and Ministry of Manpower and Deputy Leader of the House.

Mr ZHULKARNAIN ABDUL RAHIM (Chua Chu Kang).

ABSENT:

Ms GRACE FU HAI YIEN (Yuhua), Minister for Sustainability and the Environment.

Mr S ISWARAN (West Coast), Minister for Transport and Minister-in-charge of Trade Relations. Mr LIM BIOW CHUAN (Mountbatten).

Ms LOW YEN LING (Chua Chu Kang), Minister of State, Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth and Ministry of Trade and Industry.

Dr MOHAMAD MALIKI BIN OSMAN (East Coast), Minister, Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Education and Second Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Mr MOHD FAHMI BIN ALIMAN (Marine Parade).

Miss RACHEL ONG (West Coast).

Ms HANY SOH (Marsiling-Yew Tee).

Mr DENNIS TAN LIP FONG (Hougang).

Ms JESSICA TAN SOON NEO (East Coast), Deputy Speaker.

Mr MELVIN YONG YIK CHYE (Radin Mas).

- 1 11 Questions for Oral Answer were answered during Question Time.
- Free Trade Zones (Amendment) Bill read a second time and committed to a Committee of the whole House.

The House immediately resolved itself into a Committee on the Bill – (Senior Minister of State, on behalf of the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance).

(In the Committee)

Clauses 1 to 27 inclusive agreed to.

Bill to be reported.

Bill reported, without amendment; read a third time.

3 Societies (Amendment) Bill – read a second time and committed to a Committee of the whole House.

The House immediately resolved itself into a Committee on the Bill – (Minister of State (Ms Sun Xueling), on behalf of the Minister for Home Affairs).

(In the Committee)

Clauses 1 to 19 inclusive agreed to.

The Schedule agreed to.

Bill to be reported.

Bill reported, without amendment; read a third time.

- 4 Adjournment (Leader of the House) Motion made, and Question put Resolved, "That at its rising today, Parliament do stand adjourned to a date to be fixed.".
- 5 Adjournment (Leader of the House) Motion made, and Question proposed, "That Parliament do now adjourn."; Debate arising.

On Question put – Resolved, "That Parliament do now adjourn.".

Adjourned at 5.38 pm

SEAH KIAN PENG, Speaker

MEMORANDUM

Parliament stands adjourned to a date to be fixed.