PRESS RELEASE

PARLIAMENT OF SINGAPORE

NOMINATED MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

1 The Special Select Committee had invited the general public and functional groups to submit names of persons for its consideration for appointment as Nominated Members of Parliament (NMPs) on 26 October 2020. Submissions closed on 23 November 2020 at 4.30 pm and a total of 61 proposal forms were received. The Committee considered all eligible candidates in its assessment of suitable candidates for appointment as NMPs.

2 At the conclusion of its deliberations, the Special Select Committee nominated the following nine persons to the President to fill the NMP vacancies:

- (1) Mr Abdul Samad Bin Abdul Wahab
- (2) Ms Janet Ang Guat Har
- (3) Mr Chay Jung Jun, Mark
- (4) Mr Cheng Hsing Yao
- (5) Professor Hoon Hian Teck
- (6) Professor Koh Lian Pin
- (7) Mr Joshua Thomas Raj
- (8) Dr Shahira Binte Abdullah
- (9) Dr Tan Yia Swam

3 The President will appoint these persons as nominated Members of Parliament for a term of $2\frac{1}{2}$ years commencing from 21 January 2021.

4 The <u>Report</u> of the Special Select Committee [Parl 2 of 2021] is attached.

5 Mr Tan Chuan-Jin, Speaker of Parliament and the Chairman of the Committee said, "With many high-calibre candidates stepping forward for consideration, it was not an easy task for the Select Committee to nominate the maximum of nine NMPs. After careful deliberation, we have determined that the nine nominees have fulfilled all Constitutional criteria and are eligible for appointment. Collectively, they also have creditable accomplishments in their individual fields and a good grasp of issues they are passionate about. I thus look forward to the rich diversity of insights and experiences they can bring to the House when we debate matters concerning Singapore and Singaporeans".

6 Ms Indranee Rajah, Leader of the House and a member of the Committee said

"We have a good slate of nine NMPs who have distinguished themselves through their contributions to society or in their respective fields, and whose specialised knowledge will add to the depth and breadth of the debates in Parliament. I look forward to the fresh perspectives and ideas the new NMPs will bring to Parliament as we work to help Singapore navigate the Covid-19 pandemic and emerge stronger. I would also like to thank all those who had submitted applications for the NMP position. It was not possible to select everyone and we had the very difficult task of selecting 9 out of 61. However, we greatly appreciate the interest shown by all applicants."

Office of the Clerk of Parliament 14 January 2021

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION

The President will be presenting the Instruments of Appointment to the NMPs at the Istana on Thursday, 21 January 2021. The NMPs will take their oath at the next sitting of Parliament in February 2021.