PRESS RELEASE

PARLIAMENT OF SINGAPORE

NOMINATED MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

1 The Special Select Committee had invited the general public and functional groups to submit names of persons for its consideration for appointment as Nominated Members of Parliament (NMPs) on 16 March 2023. Submissions closed on 19 April 2023 at 4.30 pm and a total of 30 proposal forms were received. The Committee considered all eligible candidates in its assessment of suitable candidates for appointment as NMPs.

2 At the conclusion of its deliberations, the Special Select Committee nominated the following nine persons to the President to fill the NMP vacancies:

- (1) Ms Chandradas Usha Ranee
- (2) Mr Chua Tiang Choon Keith
- (3) Mr Mark Lee Kean Phi
- (4) Mr Ong Hua Han
- (5) Mr Parekh Nimil Rajnikant
- (6) Mr Joshua Thomas Raj
- (7) Associate Professor Razwana Begum Bt Abdul Rahim
- (8) Ms See Jinli
- (9) Dr Syed Harun Bin Taha Alhabsyi

3 The <u>Report</u> of the Special Select Committee [Parl 17 of 2023] is attached.

4 Mr Tan Chuan-Jin, Speaker of Parliament and the Chairman of the Committee said, "Many exceptional candidates have come forward to put their names up for consideration. After careful deliberation, we have determined that the nine nominees have fulfilled all Constitutional criteria and are eligible for appointment. They also have notable achievements in their respective domains and a strong understanding of the issues they are passionate about. We are assured that they will enrich Parliamentary debates by bringing to the House a diversity of independent perspectives, views and insights.".

5 Ms Indranee Rajah, Leader of the House and a member of the Committee said "We are pleased to welcome to this House the new cohort of NMPs who have made significant contributions to society and excelled in their respective domains. We look forward to their participation which will add to the spectrum of views and experiences shared in the House. I would also like to thank all applicants for their time and interest. The Committee is heartened by their passion and enthusiasm to contribute to the betterment of Singapore.".

Office of the Clerk of Parliament 17 July 2023

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION

The President will be presenting the Instruments of Appointment to the NMPs at the Istana on Monday, 24 July 2023. The NMPs will take their oath at the next sitting of Parliament in August 2023.

ANNEX

LIST OF PERSONS TO BE APPOINTED AS NOMINATED MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

S/No	Name	Designation, Organisation	Media Contact
1	Ms Chandradas Usha Ranee	Co-founder, Plural Art Mag	97457823
2	Mr Chua Tiang Choon Keith	Executive Chairman, ABR Holdings Limited	67862866
3	Mr Mark Lee Kean Phi	CEO, Sing Lun Holdings Pte Ltd	82222284
4	Mr Ong Hua Han	Assistant Vice President, Deutsche Bank AG	90671311
5	Mr Parekh Nimil Rajnikant	CEO, Pegasus Asia	90301097
б	Mr Joshua Thomas Raj	Partner, Wee Swee Teow LLC	91455046
7	Assoc Prof Razwana Begum Bt Abdul Rahim	Head, Public Safety & Security Programme, SUSS	96467550
8	Ms See Jinli	Director, Freelancers & Self-employed Unit, NTUC-ARU	90407218
9	Dr Syed Harun Bin Taha Alhabsyi	Consultant Psychiatrist, Starfish Psychiatry Pte Ltd	98326623