VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE THIRTEENTH PARLIAMENT OF SINGAPORE

First Session

WEDNESDAY, 27 JANUARY 2016

No. 4 **1.30 pm**

PRESENT:

Mdm SPEAKER (Mdm HALIMAH YACOB (Marsiling-Yew Tee)).

Mr AMRIN AMIN (Sembawang), Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Home Affairs.

Mr ANG HIN KEE (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr ANG WEI NENG (Jurong).

Mr BAEY YAM KENG (Tampines), Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth.

Miss CHERYL CHAN WEI LING (Fengshan).

Mr CHAN CHUN SING (Tanjong Pagar), Minister, Prime Minister's Office and Government Whip.

Mr CHEE HONG TAT (Bishan-Toa Payoh), Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information and Ministry of Health.

Miss CHENG LI HUI (Tampines).

Dr CHIA SHI-LU (Tanjong Pagar).

Mr CHARLES CHONG (Punggol East), Deputy Speaker.

Mr CHONG KEE HIONG (Bishan-Toa Payoh).

Mr DESMOND CHOO (Tampines).

Mr DARRYL DAVID (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr CHRISTOPHER DE SOUZA (Holland-Bukit Timah).

Assoc Prof FATIMAH LATEEF (Marine Parade).

Mr CEDRIC FOO CHEE KENG (Pioneer).

Ms FOO MEE HAR (West Coast).

Ms GRACE FU HAI YIEN (Yuhua), Minister for Culture, Community and Youth and Leader of the House.

Mr GAN KIM YONG (Chua Chu Kang), Minister for Health.

Mr GAN THIAM POH (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr GOH CHOK TONG (Marine Parade).

Mr HENG CHEE HOW (Jalan Besar), Senior Minister of State, Prime Minister's Office.

Mr HENG SWEE KEAT (Tampines), Minister for Finance.

Ms INDRANEE RAJAH (Tanjong Pagar), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Law.

Dr INTAN AZURA MOKHTAR (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr S ISWARAN (West Coast), Minister for Trade and Industry (Industry).

Dr JANIL PUTHUCHEARY (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information and Ministry of Education.

Mr KHAW BOON WAN (Sembawang), Coordinating Minister for Infrastructure and Minister for Transport.

Dr AMY KHOR LEAN SUAN (Hong Kah North), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources and Ministry of Health.

Dr KOH POH KOON (Ang Mo Kio), Minister of State, Ministry of National Development and Ministry of Trade and Industry.

Mr KWEK HIAN CHUAN HENRY (Nee Soon).

Dr LAM PIN MIN (Sengkang West), Minister of State, Ministry of Health.

Er Dr LEE BEE WAH (Nee Soon).

Mr DESMOND LEE (Jurong), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of National Development and Deputy Leader of the House.

Mr LEE HSIEN LOONG (Ang Mo Kio), Prime Minister.

Mr LEE YI SHYAN (East Coast).

Mr LIANG ENG HWA (Holland-Bukit Timah).

Mr LIM BIOW CHUAN (Mountbatten), Deputy Speaker.

Mr LIM HNG KIANG (West Coast), Minister for Trade and Industry (Trade).

Mr LIM SWEE SAY (East Coast), Minister for Manpower.

Ms SYLVIA LIM (Aljunied).

Dr LIM WEE KIAK (Sembawang).

Mr LOW THIA KHIANG (Aljunied).

Ms LOW YEN LING (Chua Chu Kang), Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Trade and Industry.

Mr MASAGOS ZULKIFLI B M M (Tampines), Minister for the Environment and Water Resources.

3

Dr MOHAMAD MALIKI BIN OSMAN (East Coast), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Defence and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Mr MUHAMAD FAISAL ABDUL MANAP (Aljunied).

Assoc Prof Dr MUHAMMAD FAISHAL IBRAHIM (Nee Soon), Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education and Ministry of Social and Family Development.

Dr LILY NEO (Jalan Besar).

Mr NG CHEE MENG (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Acting Minister for Education (Schools) and Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Transport.

Dr NG ENG HEN (Bishan-Toa Payoh), Minister for Defence.

Mr LOUIS NG KOK KWANG (Nee Soon).

Mr DAVID ONG KIM HUAT (Bukit Batok).

Mr ONG TENG KOON (Marsiling-Yew Tee).

Mr ONG YE KUNG (Sembawang), Acting Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills) and Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Defence.

Ms JOAN PEREIRA (Tanjong Pagar).

Mr LEON PERERA (Non-Constituency Member).

Ms DENISE PHUA LAY PENG (Jalan Besar).

Mr PNG ENG HUAT (Hougang).

Ms RAHAYU MAHZAM (Jurong).

Mr SAKTIANDI SUPAAT (Bishan-Toa Payoh).

Mr SEAH KIAN PENG (Marine Parade).

Mr K SHANMUGAM (Nee Soon), Minister for Home Affairs and Minister for Law.

Ms SIM ANN (Holland-Bukit Timah), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth and Ministry of Finance and Deputy Government Whip.

Mr SITOH YIH PIN (Potong Pasir).

Ms SUN XUELING (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Mr TAN CHUAN-JIN (Marine Parade), Minister for Social and Family Development.

Mr DENNIS TAN LIP FONG (Non-Constituency Member).

Dr TAN WU MENG (Jurong).

Mr PATRICK TAY TECK GUAN (West Coast).

Mr TEO CHEE HEAN (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for National Security.

Dr TEO HO PIN (Bukit Panjang).

Mrs JOSEPHINE TEO (Bishan-Toa Payoh), Senior Minister of State, Prime Minister's Office, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Ministry of Transport.

Mr TEO SER LUCK (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Minister of State, Ministry of Manpower.

Mr THARMAN SHANMUGARATNAM (Jurong), Deputy Prime Minister and Coordinating Minister for Economic and Social Policies.

Ms TIN PEI LING (MacPherson).

Mr EDWIN TONG CHUN FAI (Marine Parade).

Mr VIKRAM NAIR (Sembawang).

Dr VIVIAN BALAKRISHNAN (Holland-Bukit Timah), Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Mr LAWRENCE WONG (Marsiling-Yew Tee), Minister for National Development.

Assoc Prof Dr YAACOB IBRAHIM (Jalan Besar), Minister for Communications and Information and Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs.

Mr ALEX YAM ZIMING (Marsiling-Yew Tee).

Mr YEE CHIA HSING (Chua Chu Kang).

Mr MELVIN YONG YIK CHYE (Tanjong Pagar).

Mr ZAINAL SAPARI (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Mr ZAQY MOHAMAD (Chua Chu Kang).

ABSENT:

Mr CHEN SHOW MAO (Aljunied).

Ms LEE LI LIAN (Non-Constituency Member).

Mr PRITAM SINGH (Aljunied).

Ms JESSICA TAN SOON NEO (East Coast).

Mr SAM TAN CHIN SIONG (Radin Mas), Minister of State, Prime Minister's Office and Ministry of Manpower and Deputy Government Whip.

- 9 Questions for Oral Answer were answered during Question Time.
- President's Speech (Address of Thanks) (Mr Christopher de Souza) (3rd Allotted Day) Question again proposed on resumption of Debate (25 January 2016), "That the following Address in reply to the Speech of the President be agreed to:

'We, the Parliament of the Republic of Singapore, express our thanks to the President for the Speech which he delivered on behalf of the Government at the Opening of the First Session of this Parliament.'."; — Debate arising.

- Time Limit for Prime Minister's Speech (Leader of the House) (with the consent of Mdm Speaker and the general assent of Members present) Motion made, and Question put –Resolved, "That the proceedings on the item under discussion be exempted from the provisions of Standing Order No. 48(8) in respect of the Prime Minister's speech.".
- 4 President's Speech (Address of Thanks) (Mr Christopher de Souza) (3rd Allotted Day) Debate resumed on Question, "That the following Address in reply to the Speech of the President be agreed to:

'We, the Parliament of the Republic of Singapore, express our thanks to the President for the Speech which he delivered on behalf of the Government at the Opening of the First Session of this Parliament.'."

- 5 Adjournment of Debate (Deputy Leader of the House) (with the consent of Mr Deputy Speaker) – Motion made, and Question put – Resolved, "That the debate be now adjourned.".
 - Debate to be resumed Tomorrow.
- 6 Adjournment (Deputy Leader of the House) Resolved, "That Parliament do now adjourn.".

Adjourned at 6.35 pm

HALIMAH YACOB, Speaker

MEMORANDUM

Mdm Speaker will take the Chair again at 1.30 pm on Thursday, 28 January 2016.