VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE TWELFTH PARLIAMENT OF SINGAPORE

First Session

WEDNESDAY, 19 OCTOBER 2011

No. 4 **1.30 pm** 27

PRESENT:

Mr SPEAKER (Mr MICHAEL PALMER (Punggol East)).

Mr ANG HIN KEE (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr ANG WEI NENG (Jurong).

Mr BAEY YAM KENG (Tampines).

MG (NS) CHAN CHUN SING (Tanjong Pagar), Acting Minister for Community Development,

Youth and Sports and Minister of State, Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts.

Mr CHEN SHOW MAO (Aljunied).

Dr CHIA SHI-LU (Tanjong Pagar).

Mrs LINA CHIAM (Non-Constituency Member).

Mr CHARLES CHONG (Joo Chiat), Deputy Speaker.

Mr CHRISTOPHER DE SOUZA (Holland-Bukit Timah).

Assoc. Prof. FATIMAH LATEEF (Marine Parade).

Mr CEDRIC FOO CHEE KENG (Pioneer).

Mdm FOO MEE HAR (West Coast).

Ms GRACE FU HAI YIEN (Yuhua), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts and Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources.

Mr GAN KIM YONG (Chua Chu Kang), Minister for Health and Government Whip.

Mr GAN THIAM POH (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Mr GERALD GIAM YEAN SONG (Non-Constituency Member).

Mr GOH CHOK TONG (Marine Parade).

Mdm HALIMAH YACOB (Jurong), Minister of State, Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports.

Mr HAWAZI DAIPI (Sembawang), Senior Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education and Minister for Manpower.

Mr HENG CHEE HOW (Whampoa), Senior Minister of State, Prime Minister's Office and Deputy Leader of the House.

Mr HENG SWEE KEAT (Tampines), Minister for Education.

Mr HRI KUMAR NAIR (Bishan-Toa Payoh).

Mr INDERJIT SINGH (Ang Mo Kio).

Ms INDRANEE RAJAH (Tanjong Pagar).

Dr INTAN AZURA MOKHTAR (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr S ISWARAN (West Coast), Minister, Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Home Affairs and Second Minister for Trade and Industry.

Dr JANIL PUTHUCHEARY (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Mr KHAW BOON WAN (Sembawang), Minister for National Development.

Dr AMY KHOR LEAN SUAN (Hong Kah North), Minister of State, Ministry of Health and Deputy Government Whip.

Dr LAM PIN MIN (Sengkang West).

Er Dr LEE BEE WAH (Nee Soon).

Ms ELLEN LEE (Sembawang).

Mr LEE HSIEN LOONG (Ang Mo Kio), Prime Minister.

Mr DESMOND LEE TI-SENG (Jurong).

Mr LEE YI SHYAN (East Coast), Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry and Ministry of National Development.

Mr LIANG ENG HWA (Holland-Bukit Timah).

Mr LIM BIOW CHUAN (Mountbatten).

Mr LIM HNG KIANG (West Coast), Minister for Trade and Industry.

Mr RAYMOND LIM SIANG KEAT (East Coast).

Mr LIM SWEE SAY (East Coast), Minister, Prime Minister's Office.

Ms SYLVIA LIM (Aljunied).

Dr LIM WEE KIAK (Nee Soon).

Ms PENNY LOW (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Mr LOW THIA KHIANG (Aljunied).

Ms LOW YEN LING (Chua Chu Kang).

Mr LUI TUCK YEW (Moulmein-Kallang), Minister for Transport and Second Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Mr MAH BOW TAN (Tampines).

Mr MASAGOS ZULKIFLI B M M (Tampines), Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Dr MOHAMAD MALIKI BIN OSMAN (East Coast), Senior Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Defence and Minister for National Development.

Mr MUHAMAD FAISAL ABDUL MANAP (Aljunied).

Dr NG ENG HEN (Bishan-Toa Payoh), Minister for Defence and Leader of the House.

Mr DAVID ONG KIM HUAT (Jurong).

Mr ONG TENG KOON (Sembawang).

Ms DENISE PHUA LAY PENG (Moulmein-Kallang).

Mr PRITAM SINGH (Aljunied).

Mr SEAH KIAN PENG (Marine Parade), Deputy Speaker.

Mr SENG HAN THONG (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr K SHANMUGAM (Nee Soon), Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for Law.

Ms SIM ANN (Holland-Bukit Timah), Senior Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education and Minister for Law.

Mr SITOH YIH PIN (Potong Pasir).

Mr SAM TAN CHIN SIONG (Radin Mas), Senior Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Acting Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports.

BG (NS) TAN CHUAN-JIN (Marine Parade), Minister of State, Ministry of National Development and Ministry of Manpower.

Ms JESSICA TAN SOON NEO (East Coast).

Mr PATRICK TAY TECK GUAN (Nee Soon).

Mr TEO CHEE HEAN (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Deputy Prime Minister, Coordinating Minister for National Security and Minister for Home Affairs.

Dr TEO HO PIN (Bukit Panjang), Deputy Government Whip.

Mrs JOSEPHINE TEO (Bishan-Toa Payoh), Minister of State, Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Transport.

Mr THARMAN SHANMUGARATNAM (Jurong), Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Finance and Minister for Manpower.

Mr EDWIN TONG CHUN FAI (Moulmein-Kallang).

Mr VIKRAM NAIR (Sembawang).

Mr WONG KAN SENG (Bishan-Toa Payoh).

Mr LAWRENCE WONG (West Coast), Minister of State, Ministry of Defence and Ministry of Education.

Mr ALEX YAM ZIMING (Chua Chu Kang).

Mr YAW SHIN LEONG (Hougang).

Mr YEE JENN JONG (Non-Constituency Member).

Mr ALVIN YEO (Chua Chu Kang).

Mr YEO GUAT KWANG (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr ZAINAL SAPARI (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Mr ZAINUDIN NORDIN (Bishan-Toa Payoh).

 $Mr\ ZAQY\ MOHAMAD\ (Chua\ Chu\ Kang).$

ABSENT:

Mr ARTHUR FONG (West Coast).

Mr LEE KUAN YEW (Tanjong Pagar).

Assoc. Prof. Dr MUHAMMAD FAISHAL IBRAHIM (Nee Soon).

Dr LILY NEO (Tanjong Pagar).

Ms IRENE NG PHEK HOONG (Tampines).

Mr TEO SER LUCK (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry.

Ms TIN PEI LING (Marine Parade).

Dr VIVIAN BALAKRISHNAN (Holland-Bukit Timah), Minister for the Environment and Water Resources.

Assoc. Prof. Dr YAACOB IBRAHIM (Moulmein-Kallang), Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts and Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs.

- Papers presented to Parliament and received by the Clerk of Parliament pursuant to Standing Order No. 31 (Presentation of Papers) and ordered to lie upon the Table:
 - 1.1 Health Products (Composition of Offences) Regulations 2011 Presented on 19 October 2011 (S.L. 112 of 2011).
 - 1.2 Health Products (Good Manufacturing Practice Certificate Cosmetic Products)
 Regulations 2011 Presented on 19 October 2011 (S.L. 113 of 2011).
 - Medicines (Good Manufacturing Practice Certificate Cosmetic Products) (Revocation) Regulations 2011 – Presented on 19 October 2011 (S.L. 114 of 2011).
- President's Speech (Address of Thanks) (Dr Lam Pin Min) (3rd Allotted Day) Question again proposed on resumption of Debate (17 October 2011), "That the following Address in reply to the Speech of the President be agreed to:

'We, the Parliament of the Republic of Singapore, express our thanks to the President for the Speech which he delivered on behalf of the Government at the Opening of the First Session of this Parliament.'."; — Debate arising.

- Extension of Sitting Pursuant to Standing Order 2(5)(d), Mr Deputy Speaker extended the sitting beyond the moment of interruption for a period of up to 30 minutes.
- 4 President's Speech (Address of Thanks) Debate resumed on Question, "That the following Address in reply to the Speech of the President be agreed to:

'We, the Parliament of the Republic of Singapore, express our thanks to the President for the Speech which he delivered on behalf of the Government at the Opening of the First Session of this Parliament.'."

5 Adjournment of Debate – (Leader of the House) – Motion made, and Question put – Resolved, "That the debate be now adjourned.".

Debate to be resumed Tomorrow.

6 Adjournment – (Leader of the House) – Resolved, "That Parliament do now adjourn.".

Adjourned at 7.28 pm

MICHAEL PALMER Speaker

MEMORANDUM

Mr Speaker will take the Chair again at 1.30 pm on Thursday, 20 October 2011.