# VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE TWELFTH PARLIAMENT OF SINGAPORE

## **First Session**

## TUESDAY, 10 JULY 2012

No. 27

## 1.30 pm

172

### PRESENT:

Mr SPEAKER (Mr MICHAEL PALMER (Punggol East)).

Mr ANG HIN KEE (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr ANG WEI NENG (Jurong).

Mr BAEY YAM KENG (Tampines).

Mr CHAN CHUN SING (Tanjong Pagar), Acting Minister for Community Development, Youth

and Sports and Minister of State, Ministry of Information, Communications and the Arts.

Mr CHEN SHOW MAO (Aljunied).

Mrs LINA CHIAM (Non-Constituency Member).

Mr CHRISTOPHER DE SOUZA (Holland-Bukit Timah).

Ms FAIZAH JAMAL (Nominated Member).

Mr NICHOLAS FANG (Nominated Member).

Assoc. Prof. FATIMAH LATEEF (Marine Parade).

Mr ARTHUR FONG (West Coast).

Mr CEDRIC FOO CHEE KENG (Pioneer).

Ms FOO MEE HAR (West Coast).

Ms GRACE FU HAI YIEN (Yuhua), Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Information,

Communications and the Arts and Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources.

Mr GAN KIM YONG (Chua Chu Kang), Minister for Health and Government Whip.

Mr GAN THIAM POH (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Mr GERALD GIAM YEAN SONG (Non-Constituency Member).

Mr GOH CHOK TONG (Marine Parade).

Mdm HALIMAH YACOB (Jurong), Minister of State, Ministry of Community Development,

Youth and Sports.

Mr HENG CHEE HOW (Whampoa), Senior Minister of State, Prime Minister's Office and Deputy

Leader of the House.

Mr HENG SWEE KEAT (Tampines), Minister for Education.

Mr INDERJIT SINGH (Ang Mo Kio).

Dr INTAN AZURA MOKHTAR (Ang Mo Kio).

Mr S ISWARAN (West Coast), Minister, Prime Minister's Office, Second Minister for Home Affairs and Second Minister for Trade and Industry.

Dr JANIL PUTHUCHEARY (Pasir Ris-Punggol).

Mr KHAW BOON WAN (Sembawang), Minister for National Development.

- Dr AMY KHOR LEAN SUAN (Hong Kah North), Minister of State, Ministry of Health and Deputy Government Whip.
- Ms JANICE KOH (Nominated Member).
- Er Dr LEE BEE WAH (Nee Soon).
- Ms ELLEN LEE (Sembawang).
- Mr LEE HSIEN LOONG (Ang Mo Kio), Prime Minister.
- Mr LIANG ENG HWA (Holland-Bukit Timah).
- Mr LAURENCE LIEN (Nominated Member).
- Ms MARY LIEW (Nominated Member).
- Mr LIM BIOW CHUAN (Mountbatten).

Mr LIM HNG KIANG (West Coast), Minister for Trade and Industry.

Mr LIM SWEE SAY (East Coast), Minister, Prime Minister's Office.

- Ms SYLVIA LIM (Aljunied).
- Dr LIM WEE KIAK (Nee Soon).
- Ms PENNY LOW (Pasir Ris-Punggol).
- Mr LOW THIA KHIANG (Aljunied).
- Ms LOW YEN LING (Chua Chu Kang).
- Mr LUI TUCK YEW (Moulmein-Kallang), Minister for Transport and Second Minister for Foreign Affairs.
- Mr MAH BOW TAN (Tampines).
- Mr MASAGOS ZULKIFLI B M M (Tampines), Minister of State, Ministry of Home Affairs and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
- Dr MOHAMAD MALIKI BIN OSMAN (East Coast), Senior Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Defence and Minister for National Development.

Mr MUHAMAD FAISAL ABDUL MANAP (Aljunied).

Assoc. Prof. Dr MUHAMMAD FAISHAL IBRAHIM (Nee Soon).

Dr LILY NEO (Tanjong Pagar).

Dr NG ENG HEN (Bishan-Toa Payoh), Minister for Defence and Leader of the House.

Ms IRENE NG PHEK HOONG (Tampines).

- Mr DAVID ONG KIM HUAT (Jurong).
- Ms DENISE PHUA LAY PENG (Moulmein-Kallang).
- Mr PNG ENG HUAT (Hougang).
- Mr PRITAM SINGH (Aljunied).
- Mr R DHINAKARAN (Nominated Member).
- Mr SEAH KIAN PENG (Marine Parade), Deputy Speaker.
- Mr SENG HAN THONG (Ang Mo Kio).
- Ms SIM ANN (Holland-Bukit Timah), Senior Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education and Minister for Law.
- Mr SITOH YIH PIN (Potong Pasir).
- Mr SAM TAN CHIN SIONG (Radin Mas), Senior Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Acting Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports.
- BG (NS) TAN CHUAN-JIN (Marine Parade), Minister of State, Ministry of National Development and Ministry of Manpower.
- Asst. Prof. TAN KHENG BOON EUGENE (Nominated Member).
- Ms TAN SU SHAN (Nominated Member).
- Mr PATRICK TAY TECK GUAN (Nee Soon).
- Mr TEO CHEE HEAN (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Deputy Prime Minister, Coordinating Minister for National Security and Minister for Home Affairs.
- Mrs JOSEPHINE TEO (Bishan-Toa Payoh), Minister of State, Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Transport.
- Mr TEO SIONG SENG (Nominated Member).
- Mr THARMAN SHANMUGARATNAM (Jurong), Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Finance and Minister for Manpower.
- Ms TIN PEI LING (Marine Parade).
- Mr EDWIN TONG CHUN FAI (Moulmein-Kallang).
- Dr VIVIAN BALAKRISHNAN (Holland-Bukit Timah), Minister for the Environment and Water Resources.
- Mr LAWRENCE WONG (West Coast), Minister of State, Ministry of Defence and Ministry of Education.
- Assoc. Prof. Dr YAACOB IBRAHIM (Moulmein-Kallang), Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts and Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs.
- Mr YEE JENN JONG (Non-Constituency Member).
- Mr ALVIN YEO (Chua Chu Kang).
- Mr YEO GUAT KWANG (Ang Mo Kio).
- Mr ZAINAL SAPARI (Pasir Ris-Punggol).
- Mr ZAINUDIN NORDIN (Bishan-Toa Payoh).

#### ABSENT:

- Dr CHIA SHI-LU (Tanjong Pagar).
- Mr CHARLES CHONG (Joo Chiat), Deputy Speaker.
- Mr HAWAZI DAIPI (Sembawang), Senior Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Education and Minister for Manpower.
- Mr HRI KUMAR NAIR (Bishan-Toa Payoh).
- Ms INDRANEE RAJAH (Tanjong Pagar).
- Dr LAM PIN MIN (Sengkang West).
- Mr LEE KUAN YEW (Tanjong Pagar).
- Mr DESMOND LEE TI-SENG (Jurong).
- Mr LEE YI SHYAN (East Coast), Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry and Ministry of National Development.
- Mr RAYMOND LIM SIANG KEAT (East Coast).
- Mr ONG TENG KOON (Sembawang).
- Mr K SHANMUGAM (Nee Soon), Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for Law.
- Ms JESSICA TAN SOON NEO (East Coast).
- Dr TEO HO PIN (Bukit Panjang), Deputy Government Whip.
- Mr TEO SER LUCK (Pasir Ris-Punggol), Minister of State, Ministry of Trade and Industry.
- Mr VIKRAM NAIR (Sembawang).
- Mr WONG KAN SENG (Bishan-Toa Payoh).
- Mr ALEX YAM ZIMING (Chua Chu Kang).
- Mr ZAQY MOHAMAD (Chua Chu Kang).

- 1 15 Questions for Oral Answer were answered during Question Time.
- 2 Ministerial Statement Government's Response to the Report of the Committee of Inquiry into the 15 and 17 December 2011 MRT Disruptions – (Minister for Transport).
- 3 Land Transport of Authority (Amendment) Bill (Minister for Transport) Question again proposed, "That Parliament will immediately resolve itself into a Committee on the Bill."; Debate resumed.

Question put, and agreed to.

### (In the Committee)

Clauses 1 to 8 inclusive agreed to.

Bill to be reported.

Bill reported, without amendment; read a third time.

4 Patents (Amendment) Bill – read a second time and committee to a Committee of the whole House.

The House immediately resolved itself into a Committee on the Bill – (Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Law).

#### (In the Committee)

Clauses 1 to 28 inclusive agreed to.

Bill to be reported.

Bill reported, without amendment; read a third time.

5 Intellectual Property (Miscellaneous Amendments) Bill – read a second time and committed to a Committee of the whole House.

The House immediately resolved itself into a Committee on the Bill – (Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Law).

### (In the Committee)

Clauses 1 to 5 inclusive agreed to.

Bill to be reported.

Bill reported, without amendment; read a third time.

6 Adjournment – (Leader of the House) – Resolved, "That Parliament do now adjourn to a date to be fixed.".

Adjourned at 5.12 pm

MICHAEL PALMER Speaker

## MEMORANDUM

Parliament stands adjourned to a date to be fixed.