PRESS STATEMENT

PARLIAMENT OF SINGAPORE

NOMINATED MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

- The Special Select Committee had invited the general public and functional groups to submit names of persons for its consideration for appointment as Nominated Members of Parliament (NMPs) on 4 June 2018. Submissions closed on 6 July 2018 at 4.30 pm and a total of 48 proposal forms were received by closing time. The Committee considered all eligible candidates in its assessment of suitable candidates for appointment as NMPs.
- At the conclusion of its deliberations, the Special Select Committee nominated the following nine persons to the President to fill the NMP vacancies:
 - (1) Mr Arasu s/o Duraisamy
 - (2) Mr Foo Peow Yong Douglas
 - (3) Mr Ho Wee San
 - (4) Professor Lim Sun Sun
 - (5) Mr Abbas Ali Mohamed Irshad
 - (6) Ms Ong Lay Theng Anthea
 - (7) Ms Quay Siew Ching Irene
 - (8) Associate Professor Walter Edgar Theseira
 - (9) Ms Yip Pin Xiu
- Mr Tan Chuan-Jin, Speaker of the Parliament of Singapore and the Chairman of the Committee said, "The Select Committee has thoroughly deliberated and we are satisfied that these nine nominees have fulfilled all Constitutional criteria and requirements for eligibility. We are also confident that these passionate and committed individuals will ably represent the views within and across their communities, thus expanding and deepening perspectives shared at Parliamentary debates".

Ms Grace Fu, Leader of the House and a member of the Committee said "The Select Committee had given all qualified candidates serious consideration. The nine NMPs come with good credentials in their respective fields, and have keen interest in a broad range of issues. As a group, they add to the diversity of expertise and experience in the House. Among them, we will have a pharmacist, a para-athlete, a leader of the traditional arts sector and an activist for inter-religious harmony. Two of the NMPs are below the age of 30, and I am sure they will enrich debate by bringing the voices of the youth to the House. The Government looks forward to working with the NMPs for the betterment of Singapore, and the lives of Singaporeans".

Office of the Clerk of Parliament 17 September 2018

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION

The President will be presenting the Instruments of Appointment to the NMPs at the Istana on Wednesday, 26 September 2018. The NMPs will take their oath at the next sitting of Parliament.